Stages of Change in Recovery

Download this PDF eBook below.

PDF eBook File size: 1 page; 209 KB
Printable: Yes


Stages of Change in recovery encompass six stages. Which stage are you in? What needs to be done to go to the next stage? Do you slip back and forth into early stages?

  1. Precontemplation
    "Who, me?" Unaware or barely aware of a problem.
    No intention of changing behavior in foreseeable future.
  2. Contemplation
    Aware of a problem, but not yet ready to change.
    Dealing with ambivalence, weighing the pros and cons.
  3. Preparation
    Turns ambivalence into intention to take action.
    Sets reachable goals and makes specific plans.
  4. Action
    Commitment is clear.
    Modifies behavior, experiences, and environment to address the problem.
  5. Maintenance
    Stabilizes behavioral changes and engages in new behaviors.
    Chooses effective support system.
  6. Relapse
    Viewed as a temporary loss of motivation.
    Relapse happens! A learning experience.

Preview Stages of Change in Recovery PDF file
the download link will be at top right of Preview